My Account

Forgot Password?
New to DIFF? Sign up here

Request Password Reset

Please fill out your Email. A link to reset your password will be sent to you.
Already have a DIFF account? Sign in here

Sign up to DIFF

Please fill out the following fields.
Already have a DIFF account? Sign in here

Quick Tickets

Please select your film to proceed

Festival About DIFF Policies Connect
DIFF Archive

Explore DIFF’s Archive

Heralded by Variety magazine as one of the world’s “50 unmissable film festivals“, DIFF has cemented its reputation as the ultimate destination to discover films from the Arab world and beyond. The archive gives you access to the films, juries, galleries, press releases and more from the first edition in 2004 through to the current edition.

Juries 2016

Muhr Emirati Jury

Yousry Nasrallah (President)

Yousry Nasrallah (b.1952, Egypt) assisted Youssef Chahine before directing his first film Summer Thefts (1988). His films such as Mercedes (1993), On Boys, Girls and the Veil (1995), La Ville (1999), Bab El Shams (2004), The Aquarium (2008) and Sheherezad, Tell Me A Story (2010) have premiered at leading international film festivals such as Cannes, Lorcano, Venice and Berlin.

Salem Brahimi

Salem Brahimi (b.1972, London) is a Franco-Algerian director and producer. After co-directing Africa is Back, he directed Abd El Kader, mixing live action with animation. His first fiction Let Them Come (2015) premiered at Toronto and also won the Special Jury Prize in the Muhr competition at DIFF, amongst others. As a producer, Brahimi has been involved in many film including Selves and Others – A Portrait of Edward Said (2004), Mon Colonel (2006, DIFF) and Cartouches Gauloises (2007, DIFF).

Adel Khozam

Adel Khozam is an Emirati poet and writer, who works in the media. He has a Bachelor’s Degree from UAE university and is the manager of TV and radio at Dubai Media Incorporated. He is a published playwright and author and has also written for film. He has three poetry collections and two novels to his credit.

Muhr Feature Jury

Ulrike Ottinger (President)

Ulrike Ottinger has been a unique and proactive voice in German cinema since her debut in the 1970s. Over the past 35 years, she has directed 24 films, including feature-length fictions and experimental documentaries. She has received numerous awards, including the Audience Jury Prize in Montreal, the Bundesfilmpreis and the German Film Critics Award. Her films have been shown at multiple retrospectives, including the Cinematheque Francaise in Paris and the MoMA in New York. Ottinger has been a photographer throughout her career presenting at the Biennale di Venezia, the Documenta and the Berlin Biennale, among others. She has also worked as a theatre director and ethnographer and she has published several books.

Marianne Khoury

Cairo-based filmmaker Marianne Khoury was a close collaborator of Youssef Chahine for more than three decades. She has produced and co-produced over 30 award-winning films. Khoury was instrumental in introducing the first edition of the Panorama of the European Film in Cairo in 2004. In 2014, she founded ZAWYA, the first art-house cinema in Egypt. Her latest initiatives, MK Productions and The Dahshur Workshops, are dedicated to mentoring, developing and producing films made by emerging talent.

Saleh Bakri

Saleh Bakri (b.1977, Jaffa) is an actor. His career started in theatre in 2000 and evolved into working in film in 2007. His work in theatre and cinema includes Palestinian, Arab and international projects. He has taught at the Hakawati Theatre in Jerusalem and the drama academy in Ramallah. He was most recently seen on the stage in Fireworks (2015), a play by Dalia Taha and produced by the Royal Court in London. His film credits include Salt of the Sea (2008, DIFF), The Time That Remains (2009), When I Saw You (2012) Salvo (2013) and Zinzana (2015, DIFF).

Shohreh Aghdashloo

Academy Award nominated and Emmy winning actress Shohreh Aghdashloo (b.1952, Tehran) has portrayed complex and powerful characters in film, television and theatre. She has completed work on the second season of the futuristic TV series The Expanse, in which she plays the lead character. Her credits include House of Sand and Fog (2002), The Stoning of Soraya M. (2009) and Septembers of Shiraz (2016). After starting her career in theatre, she was cast by Iranian directors Abbas Kiarostami and Ali Hatami in 1977’s Gozaresh and Sute-Delan. Aghdashloo won an Emmy for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or Movie for her role in House of Saddam.

Ann Marie Fleming

Ann Marie Fleming (b.Japan) is a Eurasian Canadian Filmmaker, whose work explores themes of family, history and memory. Over a 30-year career, her diverse award-winning filmography includes: The Magical Life of Long Tack Same, New Shoes: An Interview in Exactly 5 Minutes, Blue Skies (2002) which won best short at TIFF. Her animated feature Window Horses: The Poetic Persian Epiphany of Rosie Ming (2016) won the Audience Award at AnimaSyros in Greece, Best Canadian Film at Vancouver and Reel Asian International Film Festival and the Jury Prize at Bucheon International Animation Festival in Korea.

Muhr Short & Gulf Short Jury

Sergiy Loznytsya (President)

Ukrainian filmmaker Sergiy Loznytsya (b.1964) has a degree in Applied Mathematics from the Kiev Polytechnic. Following a four year tenure as a scientist at the Kiev Institute of Cybernetics, specializing in artificial intelligence research, Loznytsya graduated from the Russian State Institute of Cinematography (VGIK) in Moscow, where he studied feature filmmaking. He has made 18 non-fiction films including My Joy (2010, Cannes) and In the Fog (2012), which won the FRIPRESCI prize at Cannes. In 2013, Loznytsya founded a film production and distribution company, Atoms & Void.

Mona Khazindar

Mona Khazindar was director general of the Institut du Monde Arabe in Paris (2011-2014). She was the co-curator of the Saudi Pavilion in the Venice Biennale (2010) and a nominator for the Aga Khan Award for Architecture (2011 – 2013). In 2012, the French Minister of Culture appointed her as a permanent member of the board of trustees of the Musuem of Civilizations of Europe and the Mediterranean. In 2014, she was appointed for the President of the Saudi Commission for Tourism and Antiquities.

Basil Khalil

Academy Award and Palme d’Or nominated writer-director Basil Khalil was born and raised in Nazareth. He has an MA from Screen Academy, Scotland, and has worked on a number of television productions in London. In 2011, Screen International named Khalil as one of the “Top Arab filmmakers to watch”. His Oscar nominated Ave Maria (2015) premiered at Cannes, has screened at over 120 festivals and won over 25 awards, including the Best Muhr Short at DIFF.
For any queries about DIFF, get in touch
we would love to hear from you.
Receive film insights and inspiration
delivered directly to your inbox.
Passionate about film…so are we.
Follow us for all the latest film news.