ROAD TO THE OSCARS: 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards

Mon Feb 24,2014


ROAD TO THE OSCARS: 2014 Film Independent Spirit Awards

The Film Independent Spirit Awards traditionally take place the night before the Oscars and recognize the finest achievements of today’s filmmakers. The 29th premier awards ceremony will take place Saturday, March 1st in Santa Monica.
This year’s nominees include a number of DIFF 2013 films that screened at the decennial edition back in December including 12 Years a Slave, Inside Llewyn Davis, Fruitvale Station, The Great Beauty and The Square.

Steve McQueen's "12 Years a Slave" leads the field with 7 nominations including best feature, best director and acting nods for Chiwetel Ejiofor, Lupita Nyong'o and Michael Fassbender.

The Robert Altman Award honoring a film’s director, casting director, and ensemble cast will be awarded to Jeff Nichols’ Mud.

DIFF’s closing night film American Hustle’s director David O. Russell won best director and best screenplay last year for Silver Linings Playbook.

Follow the link for the full list:

For more info on the Independent Spirit Awards

Presented By
Supported by
In Association With